Computer Classes

Registration is required for all classes – limit 10 per class. Space is limited, so only register if you can attend!

NEW! MANGO Languages and ReadIt! for English Language Learners
Tuesday, October 3 from 4:30-5:30 pm – OR Wednesday, October 4 from 10:00-11:00 am
Learn English in your native language. We will help you set up an account with Mango Languages online. Then you can use Mango and the
ReadIt! program at home with your Hillside Library Card or in the library. Registration required. Limit is 10. (If you can not attend either session, you
can call the library to set up an appointment.)

NEW! for Kids! Ideal for Grades 4-6*
Exploring Scholastic Online Databases. Learn the basics of True Flix and Scholastic go!
Tuesday, October 10 from 4:30-5:30 pm – OR Tuesday, November 7 from 4:30-5:30 pm
Learn how you can use both of these online resources at home (or in the library) as great resources for school projects. If you already have a library card, please bring it with you. *(Grades 3, 7 & 8 are also welcome to sign up.) Registration required. Limit is 10.

Computers for the Complete Beginner
Part 1: Friday, September 22 from 10:30-11:30 am -OR- Friday, November 3 from 10:30-11:30 am
Part 2: Friday, September 29 from 10:30-11:30 am -OR- Friday, November 10 from 10:30-11:30 am
A two-part workshop for new computer users. The first session covers the mouse and keyboard, navigating windows and folders, and introductory word processing. The second session covers Microsoft Word and using the internet. Both parts are offered twice.
E-mail Essentials
Friday, October 13 from 10:30-11:30 am
Learn how to sign up for an email account, send messages, work with attachments, create folders to stay organized, manage your inbox, and more. Arrive early if you don’t already have an e-mail address.
Google Drive and Google Docs
Part 1: Friday, October 20 from 10:30-11:30 am
Part 2: Friday, October 27 from 10:30-11:30 am
Learn how to store, share, and access files using Google Drive and how to create documents, spreadsheets, and presentations using Google Docs. Gmail account required – arrive early if you don’t already have one.
Microsoft Word
Part 1: Friday, December 1 from 10:30-11:30 am
Part 2: Friday, December 8 from 10:30-11:30 am
The first session is an introduction to Word tools and basic formatting features. The second session covers more advanced formatting, tables, headers and footers, and templates.